The Myth of Sisyphus and the relentlessness of housework

My excuse for poor housekeeping is having three small kids, but in reality I’ve never been very tidy. I’ve married a man with similar standards so neither of us get particularly concerned if the dishes aren’t done every night. Growing up my sister and I had similar standards, but her husband is very tidy so she’s stepped up and we’ve pretty much stood still.

I had been asked to do a TV interview for The Project to talk about twins and triplets and the camera crew were coming to my house. Cue the frantic tidying on the morning of the interview. I figured not a lot of point doing it the day before as the kids would simply makeĀ more mess. Anyway, after attempting to get my hair in decent shape, review the questions and clean up, the kids were bribed with icy poles to stay outside. Interview was done at the kitchen table, with me trying to look relaxed but all instructions from the producer went out the window, so who knows how much will actually end up on air. It’s a weird feeling having a camera on you that you are not supposed to look at. The team then decided to film the kids jumping on the trampoline and all I could see were all the weeds that needed pulling and the cuttings behind the trellis.

It’s due to screen on Wednesday 3 October, so if I don’t look too terrible I’ll put a link up.

I gave my self a little lie-in the day after the shoot and was punished. I got up to find a complex train track with a new ‘pond’ created out of milk and muesli Only a litre or so of milk was used and half a pack of museli. The scrubbing of the track and floor less than 24 hours after a spotless house confirmed to me how futile housework is and how often I feel a little like Sisyphus. If you don’t know his story, Sisyphus was condemned by the Gods to push a boulder up a mountain, and it would roll back down the other side. His punishment was to keep pushing the rock uphill with no hope of actually achieving anything. Sounds like house work to me.

One thought on “The Myth of Sisyphus and the relentlessness of housework

  1. Oh yes, I hear you on the housework. I’m not a particularly neat person, and being a single mum to two little boys, there aren’t any other adults around to inspire any neatness.
    I’ve been reading a book lately called Down to Earth by Rhonda Hetzel and she addresses housework. She says to not look at it as something that gets finished, but rather something that is constant and that you dip in and out of at need. So you might do a bit of housework every day, but not view it as a task that gets finished. I’m trying to view it this way, as the never-ending nature of it really gets to me!

Leave a Reply

