All dressed up with somewhere to go

Hutch and I are not really races people. We’ve lived in this house for five years and we’re a ten minute walk from a major racetrack and we’ve never been to the races there. This year we were invited by one of Hutch’s colleagues to go to the Caulfield Cup, a fairly major race meeting that is part of the Spring Racing Carnival – a busy time of year in Melbourne. Spring Racing means getting all dressed up, hats for the ladies and suits for the men, a chance to have a few drinks and a day out feeling like a grown up.

I’m no fashionista so I recruited my friend Mel as my stylist. She’s brilliant at that sort of thing, and we trotted off to David Jones at Chadstone one Friday night to get an outfit. We managed to get a dress, belt and hat in less than 90 minutes, a brilliant result if you ask me. Hutch and I have a wedding next year that calls for a hat so this ensemble will get another run then.

On the day we farmed the kids off to godparents and grandparents who very kindly picked them up so Hutch and I could have a drink and not have to drive.

You know when you feel like you’ve made an effort and it’s paid off? I felt that way on the day. My clothes were comfortable, as were my shoes and we walked over to the racetrack ready to have some fun. I’d sent a text to a friend who loves the races so we followed his tips all day and came home with a bit of money in our pockets.

It was one of those things that I wouldn’t have gone out of my way to attend, but was so glad we did, lovely to spend time together and with others wanting to have a good time.

yes there is a big pile of washing on the bed behind me, that’s the usual state of play in our house.

 

2 thoughts on “All dressed up with somewhere to go

  1. Cute outfit! I so get you on the making a big effort thing and having it pay off. Once you have kids going out is such an operation of logistics you think the occasion needs to be worth it. Glad you had a good time!

Leave a Reply

