Cultural changes

As expected there are quite a few differences living in Boston compared to Melbourne. As a bit of a foodie, I knew I’d have to adapt some of my recipes to suit, but there were some surprises; cordial doesn’t exist except for at bottle shops where it’s more expensive to buy Rose’s lime cordial than Angostura bitters. There goes our evening tipple of lemon lime and bitters 😦  Puff pastry is also considered a seasonal thing, only available around Thanksgiving and Christmas. So no making pinwheels and home made sausage rolls for the boys to take for school lunches. I guess it can become a christmas treat!

Rose's cordial - this was $6 for 355ml!

Rose’s cordial – this was $6 for 355ml!

Everything is sweeter, even toothpaste. The only age appropriate one I could find for the kids was bubblegum flavoured, they are more than happy to do their teeth now. My deodorant smells sweeter too.

I knew the coffee wouldn’t be the same as home so I’ve weaned myself off it. I must admit though, I’m still on the hunt for a good cappuccino. There are a couple of places that have espresso machines but a cappuccino comes out with bad 70s foam. I’ve been totally spoilt in Melbourne with good coffee. There’s an area of Boston we haven’t been to yet with lots of Italians so I’m hoping that will be the place to go.

The houses are also quite different. Most have been built as two or three family homes so are massive. Sometimes they have separate entrances, other times both letter boxes are at the front door and there must be another internal door to each apartment. It’s similar to the houses in London, but bigger.

This house is across the road from school and is a two family. It's on the corner, so has entrances on different streets.

This house is across the road from school and is a two family. It’s on the corner, so has entrances on different streets.

 

See the two front doors?

See the two front doors?

In quite a few of the parks the rubbish bins have solar panels on the top and have inbuilt compactors. Great idea, makes the place so much cleaner and no need to have someone emptying them so often.

Solar compacting bin - very clever

Solar compacting bin – very clever

Something else I hadn’t even considered was that perhaps we Aussify foreign words, ie cars. We pronounce Nissan at home as Nissun, here it’s pronounced Nee-sahn which is probably much closer to the Japanese.

I’m sure there will be lots more things that I notice, so far it’s been a fascinating adjustment.

One thought on “Cultural changes

Leave a Reply

