Exploring the countryside

IMG_5116

Last weekend we decided to explore New Hampshire, about two hours drive north of here (if you know where you’re going) to see the gorgeous colours of the changing Autumn leaves.

We found a much better car hire place than we had in LA, and they even pick you up if you need them to. Good service offering if you ask me. We hit the road about 230 on Friday afternoon, Hutch’s last class for the week was cancelled and the boys finish school at 140 so we thought we’d head straight out of town. Of course, with me navigating on a phone rather than with a GPS, meant we went the scenic way through Cambridge, instead of straight onto the interstate, and the traffic was quite heavy so it took a little longer than we thought.

We had a plan for a few activities, but nothing set in stone so we waited to see what the weather was going to do before we committed to anything. The kids are at quite a good age in that they go along with our ideas, no teenage eye rolling yet, they are happy so long as they’ve got full tummies and a little bit of Gorillaz and Gotye to listen to.

Saturday morning we decided to check out a ropes course about 10 min drive from where we were staying in Laconia. I always like the idea of ropes courses, I loved them in high school and quite enjoy the zip lines (flying foxes). Meema was too small to go, so Hutch stayed with her while the boys went through the kids’ course and I navigated the adults’. The boys got the knack of the safety really quickly, six point harnesses and two ‘monkey paws’ that had to be attached to the lines at all times. They hooned around their course very happily, with some lovely team work along the way, finishing off with a little zip line at the end.

I could see all this happening because I got up to the top of the course at the beginning of a zip line and had to ‘rest’. I sat there for quite a while, way too long really cos I couldn’t convince myself to step off the edge and go. The top platform was about four storeys up, attached to a pole which swayed a little as people tugged on the lines. The course staff ended up coming up to check on me. We had a lovely chat, (turns out he’s a twin who works with his brother and they’re very close, I found out quite a bit, anything to distract me from what I had to do) and he gave me the sensible advice of looking up not down. I was quite happy with that, I trusted the monkey paws to hold me up, I just didn’t like the stepping over the edge part. Choice sucks really, I mean I’ve jumped out of an aeroplane before and LOVED it, but then I was attached to someone who wasn’t going to kill himself so it was much easier. This time I just had to distract my brain and latch onto something that made sense. So I wriggled to the edge of the platform on my bottom, looked to the sky and slipped off. It was a lovely ride, over a pond and came in gently to the other side where I had to do it over again. Was much easier the second time once I knew what I had to do.

I never used to be afraid of heights and there really hasn’t been an occasion for me to develop one, but it seems here to stay as I had the same issue back in January with Tough Mudder.

We did some more touristy things and went back to our accommodation where Hutch and the kids spent the late afternoon in the indoor pool, with two little waterslides.

On Sunday morning it was very drizzly (or sprinkly as they call it here) so we set off for home via Walmart (they don’t have a Walmart in Boston, apparently the wages are really bad or something) and a short walk through the state park which was luckily not affected by the government shutdown. The boys had to collect Fall specimens for school so we gathered a bag full of pine cones, acorns and leaves for them to take home.

Another stop at LLBean for some winter clothes, Meema looks way too cute in a snow suit, and we hit the interstate and were home very quickly.

We were supposed to have a block party that afternoon but it was bucketing so we thought it would be called off. It was for most people, but our new friends from Sydney and one of the boys’ classmates had pulled out the BBQ and were having a party anyway, so we took the scooters, umbrellas and some beers and let the kids cruise around and we had a very relaxing end to the weekend.

It was quite a different weekend than what we would have done if it was just the two of us, but we all had a great time and I think that’s mostly because we didn’t try to do too much. In April it’s Maple Syrup harvest in Vermont so we’ll definitely have to go to check that out, and do some tasting!

We are all very happy here, and will definitely do some more weekends away. Hutch is loving learning in an environment broader than medicine and hopes he can share those skills and knowledge through uni when we get home.

Leave a Reply

