Blending in

We’ve been here over two months now and we’re definitely settling in. Hutch and I are currently sitting in bed watching the first game of the World Series Baseball, a game I never would have watched back home. Given that the Red Sox are in the World Series we obviously have more of an interest when the game is being played about a 10 minute walk away. I now know what a baseball grand slam means, what a switch hitter is (someone who bats left and right handed) and that the players who are just on the roster are getting paid $500k pa – the good guys are getting $21m!!! They play a lot though, six or so games a week so lots and lots of travelling, and you have to have nerves of steel, it feels that sometimes it’s like a game of chicken between the pitcher and the batter. The good stuff seems to happen towards the end of the games, which can last 4 hours, so I’m expecting a few late nights this week – games don’t start until 8pm.

I had a bit of a revelation in the shower the other day, I can now understand why some Americans don’t see the need to go overseas. This country is so big with so many things to see and so many cultures within this one nation that you could travel every year domestically and still have a totally different experience. Having said that, of course there is huge benefit in getting a passport but I think I get it a bit better now.

Hutch is coming into final exams, already. He’s still loving the study and is doing really well. I haven’t seen his timetable for next term yet, I hope it is similar to this one, it worked out perfectly with the boys’ school routine.

Skets has turned into a little American, the Aussie accent is fading as he strives to fit in. As expected, Woo is taking a little longer to settle, he’s happy in his own company but had a tough day last week and I wonder if that has affected his friendships.

Meema is introducing herself to every dog that goes past, along with anyone else that looks interesting. I must credit her with all our friends here, it’s through her going up to random people that we’ve established our network. She has also realised that there are big boys (aged around 12) who will happily chase her across the field as she giggles and looks back over her shoulder. God help me when she’s 15!

I am the luckiest girl in the world, I’m off to New York for the weekend, Hutch organised for me to meet a friend on Friday for a girlie weekend, kid free for both of us. Two nights away from the family, while the Dads hold the fort here in Boston. I can’t wait! I’ll make sure I take lots of photos, that is if I remember. Is it wrong to take a middle sized suitcase for two days, just so there’s room for shopping?

Leave a Reply

